the year that was

Another year is over. My, that went by in a blink. But 2013 was a momentous year. Lots of stuff happened.

It's so hard to say goodbye...

It’s so hard to say goodbye…

It was the year I said goodbye to Ethiopia.

…the year I said hello, again, to America.

…the year I saw friends and family for the first time in more than two years.

…the year I got a nephew, who’s cuter than any baby you’ve ever seen. (Yes, including your own.)

…the year I made my dream of visiting South Africa come true, along with a great safari through Botswana.

…the year I finally made it San Francisco and Denver.

…the year I got to go to Mount Rushmore.

…the year I DIDN’T GET TO GO TO YELLOWSTONE, thanks to certain silly elected officials.

…the year I saw my grandmother for the first time in a long time.

…the year I saw more movies in five months than in the previous 26 months combined.

…the year I learned to appreciate pop music again, tolerate Miley Cyrus (I went there) and hate Taylor Swift just a little less.

…the year I got to see my Brewers in action again, even if they, er, weren’t great.

…the year I started running and didn’t hate it.

…the year I had to start looking for a job, like, for real.

…the year I let go of a lot of things from my past.

…and, most importantly, the year I got to eat bacon again.

There is a lot to look forward to in 2014. I’ll keep up the search for the perfect job (read: one that pays me money). I’ll get a dog. I’ll see some more movies, some more Brewers games. That’s all I’ve got planned so far. But that’s enough for me.

So happy new year! Enjoy it, because it’ll be 2015 before you know it.

Cheers.

PS If you’re interested, here are some photos of my last weeks in Bahir Dar and my first week back in the States.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the year that was

  1. John says:

    Glad to have seen ya! Hoping to get PCS’d back to good ol’ WI soon😀

  2. I’m about to have that “saying goodbye” year soon after serving in Namibia. This post is awesome and helped me put things into persepective

Leave a Reply

